International Coalition to Ban Uranium Weapons

Take action

Latest news


It's Time to Contact Your Government

ICBUW believes that the second vote on the UN Draft Resolution on DU will take place in early December. ICBUW has contacted as many state delegations as we can but domestic pressure is of huge importance. We need your help...
16 November 2007 - ICBUW

We must ensure that all those who voted in favour of the Resolution on Nov 2nd vote in favour again, but even more importantly, we need those states that abstained to change their vote to a yes. We were shocked by the number of EU states that abstained, particularly in light of the repeated calls by the European Parliament for a moratorium leading to a ban.

Please take the time to write to your foreign minister to request that they vote YES at the Plenary Session. Below is a list of how the states voted and I have attached the text of our briefing, please feel free to use as much or as little as you like. There is also a model letter than you can modify. It is equally important to write to your politicians to thank them if they voted in favour the first time round.


The key themes you may wish to address are:

1. Existing illegality of DU weapons under the Hague and Geneva Conventions.
2. The opinion of the European Parliament and Belgium's recent domestic ban.
3. The new findings of DU's chemical toxicity and radioactivity.
4. The success of the land mine and cluster munitions campaigns - DU is the next logical step.
5. The threat to civilian populations, military personnel, peacekeepers and NGO workers in areas where it has been used.
6. The Precautionary Principle - that where a threat to health may exist, steps should be taken to stop the threat even if complete information on its extent is unavailable.

If you need any more information or advice please don't hesitate to get in touch at

List of states and their voting patterns:

'Effects of the use of armaments and ammunitions containing depleted uranium' A/C.1/62/L.18/Rev.1

Full text (select your language of choice):

Full list of voters:

Vote on Use of Depleted Uranium in Armaments

The draft resolution on the effects of the use of armaments and ammunition containing depleted uranium (document A/C.1/62/L.18/Rev.1) was approved by a recorded vote of 122 in favour to 6 against, with 35 abstentions, as follows:

In favour: Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Chile, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, Cyprus, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Germany, Ghana, Guatemala, Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kuwait, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Saint Lucia, Samoa, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Switzerland, Syria, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, United Republic of Tanzania, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Against: Czech Republic, France, Israel, Netherlands, United Kingdom, United States.

Abstain: Albania, Andorra, Australia, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Ukraine.

Absent: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, China, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Dominica, Equatorial Guinea, Fiji, Gambia, Grenada, Guinea-Bissau, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Micronesia (Federated States of), Monaco, Palau, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Sao Tome and Principe, Seychelles, Somalia, Tajikistan, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu.